Rosie’s Little Café on the Riviera by Jennifer Bohnet

Rosie’s Little Café on the Riviera

By Jennifer Bohnet

  • Release Date: 2017-02-23
  • Genre: Romantic Comedy
Download Now
The file download will begin after you complete the registration. Downloader's Terms of Service | DMCA

Description

Escape to the French coast this summer with Jennifer Bohnet’s deliciously uplifting read.

A summer of taking chances!

Rosie Hewitt’s dream of opening a little French café on the Riviera is finally coming true. She’s giving up on love and instead chasing her own perfect recipe for happiness…

Only, she never expected the oh-so-sexy, award-winning chef, Sebastian Groc, to set up a rival restaurant next door – or for his freshly-baked croissants to smell quite so delicious.

But with just a few days until she opens her doors and all her sugar-coated dreams crumbling around her, Rosie isn’t prepared to give up without a fight!

Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Ellen Berry and Caroline Roberts.

Praise for Jennifer Bohnet:

‘A beautiful book, a perfect read for when you need a little bit of sunshine to help you through your day.’ – Book Worm Mummy

‘Jennifer Bohnet took me away into a sunny world full of surprises! I read the entire book in one sitting.’ – Urban Book Reviews

‘A great holiday read to chase away the winter blues.’ – Lesley Newton (Good Housekeeping)

‘I loved it so much that I read it in one sitting!’ – Alison Alcroft (NetGalley Reviewer)

‘A fun, feel-good story to lift the gloom of an English winter!’ – Bev Humphrey (NetGalley Reviewer)

‘A perfect holiday book, I felt like I was in the South of France sipping a glass of wine!’ – Alison Robinson (NetGalley Reviewer)

About the author

Jennifer Bohnet is originally from the West Country but now lives in the wilds of rural Brittany, France. She’s still not sure how she ended up there! The saying ‘life is what happens while you’re deciding what to do . . .’ is certainly true in her case. She’s always written alongside having various jobs: playgroup leader, bookseller, landlady, restauranteur, farmer’s wife, secretary – the list is endless but does provide a rich vein of inspiration for her stories. For three years she wrote a newspaper column in The South Hams Group of Newspapers (Devon) where she took a wry look at family life. Since living in France it is her fiction that has taken off with hundreds of short stories and several serials published internationally. If you like stories set down on the French Riviera, Antibes, Cannes and Monaco, then take a look at Follow Your Star and Rendezvous in Cannes. Her other books, too, have passing references to the South of France. Allergic to housework and gardening, she rarely does either, but she does like cooking and entertaining and wandering around vide greniers (the French equivalent of flea markets) looking for a bargain or two. Her children currently live in fear of her turning into an ageing hippy and moving to Totnes, Devon. To find out more about Jennifer visit her website: jenniferbohnet.com or chat to her on Twitter: @jenniewriter

Reviews

  • The perfect ‘pick you up’ read, as everyone finds growth, redemption and a new outlook

    4
    By glhince
    Rosie has finally jumped into the deep end, after working and saving her money, she’s decided to take her dream of opening a café on the French Riviera to fruition, and with her best-friend and former sous from her private yacht cheffing gig, she has done it: bought a small waterfront space, ready to make her mark. Arriving before the ‘high season’ there is tons of clean up, menus, planning and new people to meet. Seb, the guy who is oh so friendly but looks aimless and possibly homeless, Erica the woman with a young daughter who runs a shop down the street but who carries a sadness with her, and the polished, driven and businesslike realtor Gee Gee, best friend to Erica and regular customer at the café with her laptop and mobile close to hand. Rosie is struggling and trying to work in her budget, she and Tansy are trying everything: extra hours, menu variations, and while initially appearing to be well received, nothing is ever that simple. From Rosie’s own rather vigilant anti-man stance and her lingering hurt from her last break up, to the realization that Seb is a well-regarded Michelin-starred chef and owner of the hotel next door, some reappearances from her ex, and a bit of double-play with a very necessary yet rather mysterious staff member, the story weaves us through the lives of the major characters, and does so in ways that are revealing and unexpected. From the first interaction to the last, Rosie and Seb’s relationship was easy, easy to see her innate friendliness and attraction, easy to see why Seb would want to help, offering advice and trying slowly to allow her to move forward. In fact, this really becomes a story, redolent with the charms of a small French seaside town, as it works its magic to bring healing, hope and new beginnings to all of the players. From Erica’s moving forward from her husband’s tragic death and seeing her child regaining some of her own joy in life, to GeeGee’s reframing her own career and life to take charge and stay in the area, and Rosie’s ability to make amends with her long-absent father, as well as an honest, adult conversation with her mother, the story has plenty to keep readers engaged and intrigued. Immersive and complete in just these pages, this story packs plenty of punch all while never crossing the line into tension filled or overly angsty. The perfect ‘pick you up’ read, as everyone finds growth, redemption and a new outlook within these pages. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.

keyboard_arrow_up